Reappointment of the Vice President, Students

To: Faculty, staff and students in Vancouver and the Okanagan

If you are a manager of staff whose work is not computer-based, please print this email and display it in a common work area for them to review.

The term of Dr. Louise Cowin, Vice President, Students, is coming to an end in June 2016. Dr. Cowin has indicated her willingness to be considered for reappointment for the period July 2016 – June 2021.  In accordance with Board policy, an advisory committee has been struck to examine Dr. Cowin’s record and to make a recommendation to the President concerning her reappointment.

The following have been appointed to the Committee:

  • Martha C. Piper, Chair
  • Paul Harrison, UBCV (Senate faculty rep.)
  • Daniel Munro, UBCV (Senate student rep.)
  • Robert Lalonde, UBCO (Senate faculty rep.)
  • Shira Sneg, UBCO (Senate student rep.)
  • David Sidoo, Board of Governors
  • Barbara Miles, VP Development & Alumni Engagement
  • Robert Helsley, Dean, Sauder School of Business
  • Linc Kesler, Director, First Nations House of Learning
  • Janet Teasdale, VP Students’ portfolio
  • Herbert Rosengarten, Secretary

The role of the Vice President, Students, who is responsible to the President, is to provide strategic leadership to UBC’s student portfolio, and to accomplish the vision, commitments, goals, and actions as set out in the University’s strategic plan, Place and Promise: The UBC Plan.

The Vice President, Students provides high-level oversight that focuses upon best practices in all aspects of the student experience, including: community-engaged learning; student health, safety, and wellbeing; international learning; student advising; housing and food services; career development; and athletic and recreation services.

The Advisory Committee is entering into a consultative process to determine Dr. Cowin’s performance in relation to the duties and responsibilities attached to her portfolio as outlined in the original job description (to be found at ).

All members of the UBC community, including students, faculty, and staff, are invited to share their views via email to the Committee’s secretary, Dr. Herbert Rosengarten, at no later than January 15, 2016.  All communications will be held in confidence.

I strongly encourage you to participate in this important process.

Martha C. Piper
Interim President and Vice-Chancellor